I recently made the switch from PC to MAC for the long-form documentary I’m making. A decision that so far, I definitely regret. But more on that later.

For the moment I thought I’d start posting notes about problems I’ve run into and solutions to them that I’ve found in case any one else runs into these same problems.

I purchased the Avid/Euphonix Transport for use in my editing as having a jog/shuttle definitely speeds things up remarkably once you are accustomed to them.

However I didn’t notice that Adobe Premiere was not supported and this is my editing program of choice at the moment although I do have FCP and Media Composer 5.52.

I googled around and even contacted Euphonix/Avid support and no one seemed to have a solution.

In frustration I then ordered a Contour Shuttle Pro v2 (which is sort of like downsizing from a Porche to a Honda. Both great cars, but which one would you kick out of bed first? Exactly.)

So while waiting for international shipping I tried a bit of a wild idea and I installed the drivers for both the Bella Pro Premiere keyboard (which I don’t have) and the Contour Shuttle and then began customizing the MC Transport commands to match the command keys in Adobe Premiere.

As a note; you might not need to do this on your system. I’m using a Mac 12 core and this workaround only worked once I installed those drivers but logically speaking you shouldn’t need to do it.

And hey! It works!!!!

Some things aren’t as perfect as they are in Avid or FCP such as the shuttle wheel shifting to different speeds smoothly. But damn! The jog wheel works perfectly.

Customizing the Soft Keys just involves ensuring that Adobe Premiere Pro CS 5.5 is open and then choosing the soft key around the wheel and once it is highlighted in the EUCON controller, then assigning a KEY command.

For example your center three keys above the jog wheel should have J, K, and L assigned accordingly.

And however you wish to customize it after that. I use for cutting at timeline (CTRL + K), next edit (page down), previous edit (page up) and it is working like a charm.

All the other soft keys including shift command respond the same.

To program the jog wheel. Select it and choose Command, select Wheel from the drop down, then select jog right and choose special command and pick “right arrow” and then repeat for select jog left and choose special command and choose “left arrow.”

The shuttle you have to choose the shuttle and again add a wheel command and then in choose shuttle and create a new shuttle wheel command. Then from shuttle drop down, choose for Section 0 add key and set it to K (stop), then for Shuttle Section 1 add L key once and for each shuttle section add one more L key. Shuttle section 7 has LLLLLLL assigned to it.

For the shuttle -1 Section choose J and for each minus section following that add one more J.

It’s not perfect but it certainly does what I need it to do!

Hope that helps anyone else out there.

Best,
Darius

EDIT 29 JUNE 2011

After talking to Ashley from ashley.net I went back at it for a few hours in terms of playing with settings and should note the following: As I stated above, this is not a perfect “tie-in” eventually a plug in will need to be written to incorporate EUCON controller software so there is full functionality for the smoothness of the jog and shuttle.

As the controller passes each “zone” depending on the speed that you pass the shuttle by the zone points, it simply adds the other “keystrokes” to the command already in progress. This is why Ashley noted that it was skipping steps. I also noticed when I checked the settings in Avid, they only use Zones 1,3,5,7 although there is definitely more response than that visible.

So if you program the zone keys for ZONE 1 = L and then ZONE 2 = LL, once you pass Zone 2 you will have the same speed as LLL (Zone 1 + Zone 2).

That having been said. I decided to map out exactly where each zone was which you can see in the photos above and then to give myself finer variations on the shuttle settings.

I set Zone 1 for L

Zone 2 for SHIFT + LLLLL (equivalent of L + SHIFT LLLLL)

Zone 3 for SHIFT + LLLLL (equivalent of L + SHIFT LLLLLLLLLL)

Zone 4 for SHIFT + LLLLL (equivalent of L + SHIFT LLLLLLLLLLLLLLL I think you get the idea right?)

Zone 5 for SHIFT + LLLLL

Zone 6 for SHIFT + LLLLL

Zone 7 for  LLLL (Max speed)

And the minus Zones starting with Zone -1 = J

the rest follow SHIFT + JJJJJ as given above.

I recommend setting the SHUTTLE to the highest SENSITIVITY setting in the EUCON controller. With these setting you get the most Avid like response.

In terms of jog wheel, if you want a faster moving JOG, either just hold down the shift key or program the jog to have shift selected and it will jump five frames at a time. I prefer leaving this at normal, not touching the sensitivity and holding the shift key as needed.

Best,

Dare

